1953 FINAL SCORES:

IRFU

Wed, Aug 26

Montreal Alouettes 9

at TORONTO ARGONAUTS 11

Sat, Aug 29

Ottawa Rough Riders 10

at HAMILTON TIGER-CATS 14

Wed, Sept 2

Toronto Argonauts 7

at MONTREAL ALOUETTES 15

Sat, Sept 5

Montreal Alouettes 6

at OTTAWA ROUGH RIDERS 26

Mon, Sept 7

Toronto Argonauts 12

at HAMILTON TIGER-CATS 14

Fri, Sept 11

Hamilton Tiger-Cats 0

at MONTREAL ALOUETTES 17

Sat, Sept 12

OTTAWA ROUGH RIDERS 20

at Toronto Argonauts 16

Wed, Sept 16

TORONTO ARGONAUTS 21

at Hamilton Tiger-Cats 20

Sat, Sept 19

Montreal Alouettes 13

at OTTAWA ROUGH RIDERS 22

 

HAMILTON TIGER-CATS 12

at Toronto Argonauts 9

Sun, Sept 20

Ottawa Rough Riders 21

at MONTREAL ALOUETTES 37

Sat, Sept 26

TORONTO ARGONAUTS 18

at Ottawa Rough Riders 17

 

Montreal Alouettes 15

at HAMILTON TIGER-CATS 20

Sat, Oct 3

Hamilton Tiger-Cats 6

at OTTAWA ROUGH RIDERS 31

Sat, Oct 10

HAMILTON TIGER-CATS 26

at Toronto Argonauts 0

 

MONTREAL ALOUETTES 24

at Ottawa Rough Riders 6

Sun, Oct 11

Ottawa Rough Riders 18

at MONTREAL ALOUETTES 26

Mon, Oct 12

TORONTO ARGONAUTS 30

at Hamilton Tiger-Cats 12

Sat, Oct 17

HAMILTON TIGER-CATS 33

at Ottawa Rough Riders 24

Sun, Oct 18

Toronto Argonauts 11

at MONTREAL ALOUETTES 39

Sat, Oct 24

Hamilton Tiger-Cats 5

at TORONTO ARGONAUTS 17

Sun, Oct 25

OTTAWA ROUGH RIDERS 30

at Montreal Alouettes 15

Sat, Oct 31

OTTAWA ROUGH RIDERS 20

at Toronto Argonauts 8

 

Montreal Alouettes 18

at HAMILTON TIGER-CATS 31

Sat, Nov 7

Toronto Argonauts 4

at OTTAWA ROUGH RIDERS 13

Sun, Nov 8

Hamilton Tiger-Cats 18

at MONTREAL ALOUETTES 31

Sat, Nov 14

MONTREAL ALOUETTES 27

at Toronto Argonauts 8

 

Ottawa Rough Riders 8

at HAMILTON TIGER-CATS 18

 

 

 

WIFU

Sat, Aug 29

CALGARY STAMPEDERS 29

at Saskatchewan Roughriders 17

 

Edmonton Eskimos 6

at WINNIPEG BLUE BOMBERS 7

Mon, Aug 31

EDMONTON ESKIMOS 19

at Saskatchewan Roughriders 17

 

Calgary Stampeders 10

at WINNIPEG BLUE BOMBERS 16

Fri, Sept 4

Saskatchewan Roughriders 6

at WINNIPEG BLUE BOMBERS 13

Sat, Sept 5

EDMONTON ESKIMOS 18

at Calgary Stampeders 6

Mon, Sept 7

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 19

at SASKATCHEWAN ROUGHRIDERS 23

 

Calgary Stampeders 5

at EDMONTON ESKIMOS 19

Sat, Sept 12

Saskatchewan Roughriders 1

at EDMONTON ESKIMOS 13

 

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 14

at CALGARY STAMPEDERS 23

Mon, Sept 14

SASKATCHEWAN ROUGHRIDERS 34

at Calgary Stampeders 2

 

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 7

at EDMONTON ESKIMOS 9

Sat, Sept 19

Calgary Stampeders 15

at WINNIPEG BLUE BOMBERS 16

 

EDMONTON ESKIMOS 12

at Saskatchewan Roughriders 6

Sat, Sept 26

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 15

at SASKATCHEWAN ROUGHRIDERS 21

 

Calgary Stampeders 6

at EDMONTON ESKIMOS 15

Mon, Sept 28

EDMONTON ESKIMOS 21

at Calgary Stampeders 12

 

Saskatchewan Roughriders 2

at WINNIPEG BLUE BOMBERS 19

Sat, Oct 3

Edmonton Eskimos 13

at SASKATCHEWAN ROUGHRIDERS 19

 

Calgary Stampeders 17

at WINNIPEG BLUE BOMBERS 24

Mon, Oct 5

EDMONTON ESKIMOS 16

at Winnipeg Blue Bombers 6

 

CALGARY STAMPEDERS 9

at Saskatchewan Roughriders 8

Sat, Oct 10

EDMONTON ESKIMOS 34

at Calgary Stampeders 13

 

SASKATCHEWAN ROUGHRIDERS 18

at Winnipeg Blue Bombers 13

Mon, Oct 12

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 13

at SASKATCHEWAN ROUGHRIDERS 14

 

Calgary Stampeders 6

at EDMONTON ESKIMOS 22

Sat, Oct 17

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 9

at EDMONTON ESKIMOS 32

 

Calgary Stampeders 18

at SASKATCHEWAN ROUGHRIDERS 24

Mon, Oct 19

SASKATCHEWAN ROUGHRIDERS 20

at Edmonton Eskimos 19

 

WINNIPEG BLUE BOMBERS 18

at Calgary Stampeders 6

Sat, Oct 24

WINNIPEG BLUE BOMBERS 17

at Edmonton Eskimos 8

 

Saskatchewan Roughriders 13

at Calgary Stampeders 13

 

 

 

1953 FINAL STANDINGS:

INTERPROVINCIAL RUGBY  FOOTBALL UNION

IRFU

GP

W

L

T

PF

PA

PTS

Montreal Alouettes

14

8

6

0

292

229

16

Hamilton Tiger-Cats

14

8

6

0

229

243

16

Ottawa Rough Riders

14

7

7

0

266

238

14

Toronto Argonauts

14

5

9

0

172

249

10

WESTERN INTERPROVINCIAL  FOOTBALL UNION

WIFU

GP

W

L

T

PF

PA

PTS

Edmonton Eskimos

16

12

4

0

276

157

24

Saskatchewan Roughriders

16

8

7

1

243

239

17

Winnipeg Blue Bombers

16

8

8

0

226

226

16

Calgary Stampeders

16

3

12

1

190

313

7

 

 

PLAYOFFS:

INTERPROVINCIAL RUGBY  FOOTBALL UNION

ORFU SEMI-FINALS:

Sat, Nov 7

Toronto Balmy Beach 0

at SARNIA IMPERIALS 2

Sun Nov 8

Sarnia Imperials 10

at TORONTO BALMY BEACH 18

Toronto wins series, 18-12

 

ORFU FINALS:

Wed Nov 11

Toronto Balmy Beach 6

at KITCHENER-WATERLOO DUTCHMEN 9

Sun Nov 15

Kitchener-Waterloo Dutchmen 12

at TORONTO BALMY BEACH 24

Toronto wins series, 30-21

 

IRFU FINALS:

Wed, Nov 18

Montreal Alouettes 12

HAMILTON TIGER-CATS 37

Sun, Nov 22

HAMILTON TIGER-CATS 22

Montreal Alouettes 11

Hamilton wins series, 59-23, advance to Grey Cup

 

 

 

WESTERN INTERPROVINCIAL  FOOTBALL UNION

WIFU SEMI-FINAL:

Wed, Oct 28

Saskatchewan Roughriders 5

at WINNIPEG BLUE BOMBERS 43

Sat, Oct 31

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 17

at SASKATCHEWAN ROUGHRIDERS 18

Winnipeg wins series, 60-23

 

WIFU FINALS:

Sat Nov 7

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 7

at EDMONTON ESKIMOS 25

Wed, Nov 11

Edmonton Eskimos 17

at WINNIPEG BLUE BOMBERS 21

Sat, Nov 14

WINNIPEG BLUE BOMBERS 30

at Edmonton Eskimos 24

Winnipeg wins series, 2 games to 1

 

 

 

 

 

 

GREY CUP SEMI- FINAL:

Sat, Nov 21

Toronto Balmy Beach (ORFU) 4

at WINNIPEG BLUE BOMBERS 24

 

 

 

1953 GREY CUP GAME AT VARSITY STADIUM, TORONTO:

Sat, Nov 28

HAMILTON TIGER-CATS 12

Winnipeg Blue Bombers 6

 

Next: 1954

Back to History Index

Back to Main page